You can find on this page the Brazil region map to print and to download in PDF. The Brazil political map presents states, regions, provinces and surrounding areas of Brazil in Americas.

Brazil regions map

Map of Brazil areas

The Brazil regions map shows surrounding areas and provinces of Brazil. This administrative map of Brazil will allow you to know regions of Brazil in Americas. The Brazil regions map is downloadable in PDF, printable and free.

Brazil is divided into five regions (also called macroregions) by the Instituto Brasileiro de Geografia e Estatística (IBGE) as its mentioned in Brazil regions map. These divisions are composed of states within them. The north region is covered by Amazon Rainforest, except the state of Tocantins, which has savanna-like vegetation (cerrado). Although most of the native vegetation still remains, the region suffers from critical problems due to the growing deforestation of the area.

Northeast Region this region was the first part of Brazil discovered by the Portuguese, and the first Brazilian capital, Salvador, was founded here (see Brazil regions map). Central-West Region has a low population density, most of the land in the region is used for grazing instead of agriculture. The region is also the least industrialized in the country, based mainly in food & meat processing.

Southeast Region of Brazil is the major powerhouse of the Brazilian economy, being responsible for 49% of the Brazilian GDP (approximately US$1024 billion in 2010). South Region is characterized by its high standard of living, with the best social indicators of the country. This region contains the cities with the highest HDI levels as you can see in Brazil regions map: Florianópolis has an HDI of 0.975; Porto Alegre has an HDI of 0.969; Curitiba has an HDI of 0.980 (information accurate as of 1996).

Brazil political map

Map of Brazil administrative

The Brazil political map shows regions and provinces of Brazil. This administrative map of Brazil will allow you to show regions, administrative borders and cities of Brazil in Americas. The Brazil political map is downloadable in PDF, printable and free.

The politics of Brazil take place in a framework of a federal presidential representative democratic republic, whereby the President is both head of state and head of government, and of a multi-party system. The political and administrative organization of Brazil comprises the federal government, the states, the federal district and the municipalities as its shown in Brazil political map.

The federal government in Brazil exercises control over the central government and is divided into three independent branches as its mentioned in Brazil political map: executive, legislative and judicial. Executive power is exercised by the President, advised by a cabinet. Legislative power is vested upon the National Congress, a two-chamber legislature comprising the Federal Senate and the Chamber of Deputies. Judicial power is exercised by the judiciary, consisting of the Supreme Federal Court, the Superior Court of Justice and other Superior Courts, the National Justice Council and the regional federal courts.

Brazil states are autonomous sub-national entities with their own constitutions and governments that, together with the other federative units, form the Federative Republic of Brazil. Currently, Brazil is divided politically and administratively into 27 federative units, being 26 states and one federal district as you can see in Brazil political map. The executive power is exercised by a governor elected to a four year term. The judiciary is exercised by courts of first and second instance addressing the common justice. Each State has a unicameral legislature with deputies who vote state laws. The Constitution of Brazil knows also two elements of direct democracy, stated in Article 14. The legislative assemblies supervise the activities of the Executive power of the states and municipalities.

Brazil states map

Map of Brazil states

The Brazil states map shows all departments and regions of Brazil. States map of Brazil will allow you to know areas and cities of Brazil in Brazil. The Brazil states map is downloadable in PDF, printable and free.

The Federative Republic of Brazil is a union of twenty-seven Federative Units (Portuguese: Unidades Federativas (UF)): twenty-six states (estados; singular estado) and one federal district (Distrito Federal), where is located the federal capital, Brasília as its shown in Brazil states map. The states are generally based on historical, conventional borders which have developed over time. The federal district is not a state in its own right, but shares some characteristics of a state and some of a municipality. The Federal District is bordered by the states of Goiás and Minas Gerais. The codes given below are defined in ISO 3166-2:BR.

The average state in Brazil has 214 municipalities. Roraima is the least subdivided state, with 15 municipalities, while Minas Gerais is the most subdivided state, with 853 as its mentioned in Brazil states map. The Federal District, where the national capital, Brasília, is located, cannot be divided in municipalities (according the Brazilian Constitution, the Federal District absorbs the constitutional and legal powers, attributions and obligations of states and municipalities).

Brazil states as you can see in Brazil states map are the following: Acre, Alagoas, Amapa, Amazonas, Bahia, Ceara, Distrito Federal, Espirito Santo, Goias, Maranhao, Mato Grosso, Mato Grosso do Sul, Minas Gerais, Para, Paraiba, Parana, Pernambuco, Piaui, Rio de Janeiro, Rio Grande do Norte, Rio Grande do Sul, Rondonia, Roraima, Santa Catarina, Sao Paulo, Sergipe, Tocantins.